What Is the meaning behind Ohio brand “Youth Gang” upcoming new design?

f96d0219-5bb9-436e-902c-605c888ff6a7

Ohio Based brand “Youth Gang” is on the rise. I first dicovered them when everyone was talking about their signature tee which was a rip A$AP yams tee. I had to cop of course it was just to fire. Even Rapper Keith Ape had to show love by copping their youth gang tee. The founder  Kaleb Joseph just wanted to create something for the youth to express theirselves.

Today Kaleb came to me with this original drawing and the meaning behind it was crazy but in a good way. When alot of people design or create cloths they don’t have that purpose or reason they have to why they designed that piece. Check out what Kaleb had to say about the drawing and also he gave me a glimpse of what to see in the next drop for Youth Gang 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“First off I’m just saying how I perceive this piece and how it applies to my reality, there’s no wrong or right to art so if you get a different meaning out of it it’s all good. So basically when I was brainstorming for a graphic idea I just thought about making something to symbolize what I see as evil around me. So in my mind the demons represent “the hood” or a lifestyle of gang banging (hence the blood and crip demons) and the negatives of allat. And the guy climbing out of it symbolizes getting out of the cut and moving on to bigger and better things. The money in his hands represents him taking what he made in the hood and using it to get out. A lot of the demons have small symbols too like their tattoos saying “stay, kill, murder, shooter, hood” and some satanic symbols. Also you see the Xanax tee, the demon chasing after the codeine, the Coke on the scale and the demon holding the heroin needle. That’s all meant to symbolize the drugs that are evil and fuck people up out there. Lastly theres a grey demon with a bullet hole in his head and that was supposed to symbolize someone who died in the hood and is still there even after death because he never moved on to anything besides the hood lifestyle. To me if you live by the hood, then you’re going to die by the hood. There’s much more to life than that shit. And this isn’t an attack or a jab at drug dealers because if you born in that shit you gotta do what you gotta do to get out but I was just trying to outline what I see as evil in today’s society. Oh and shoutout @fifthpower for helping me make the graphic. Gang”

Kaleb Joesph

Leave a comment